Not Anyone's Anything

Ian Williams's Not Anyones Anything is a trio of trios: three sets of three stories, with three of those stories further divided into thirds. Mathematical, musical, and meticulously crafted, these stories play profoundly with form, featuring flash cards and musical notations embedded in texts, literal basements, and dual narratives, semi-detached. Roaming through Toronto and its surrounding suburbia, Williams's characters wittily and wryly draw attention to the angst and anxieties associated with being somewhere between adolescence and more-than-that. They are disastrously ambitious, cutting the flaps of skin between their fingers to play Chopin; they are restless and bored, breaking into units of new subdivisions hoping for a score; they continually test the ones they love, and, though every time feels like the last time, they might be up for one more game.

Table of Contents

Table of Contents
Front Cover 1
Back Cover 2
Half Title Page 5
Title Page 7
Copyright Page 8
Dedication 9
Contents 11
Part I 13
Not Anyone's Anything 15
Breakthrough 49
Break-in 79
Part II Trios 99
Criminal Activity 101
Statistics 119
Joint 139
Part III 157
Prelude 159
Cardiology 179
Fall 201
Acknowledgements 221
Author Biography 223
Colophon 225